Things I never thought I’d do! True story.

In my youth I had BIG plans. I didn’t know what those BIG things would be, but I’d seen enough poverty and hunger on my bus to school to know that everyone’s life on TV couldn’t look this way.  Sure, there were days of plenty (for me) but someone in my family was doing without at almost any given time.  This leads a young child to two paths one of hopelessness or one of dreams. I had made a choice: DREAM BIG! Keep in mind BIG is subjective.

I never thought I would do certain things that as a young person (before my teens). I thought some things were reserved for special people, so here’s some of that list – completed! Granted, some check marks are not that fabulous.

1. Eat expensive french fries with expensive ketchup. (Steakhouse in Omaha, Ne – thankfully they were delicious.)

2. Catch a glimpse of a mamma bird feeding her babies. (Seveirville, Tn – treetop rental cabin, late spring. She was less than 5 ft away!)

3. Wear a MooMoo. (A large shirt-looking robe type thing that no woman should wear. EVER.) (Bed-rest does strange things to people! No picture…thank God!)

Southwest Rewards is the reason I pretty much go anywhere on a plane. No, they still didn't serve me dinner.

4. Take over for a guy, and change the flat tire myself. (Long story and probably embarrassing on some level, but I just never thought I would be capable of taking over for a guy. ~ I had high hopes of men.)

5. Have 5 kids. No seriously, I never really wanted kids. Go figure! God changed me and I saw it differently eventually.

6. Eat a meal in an airplane. (Yes, I was greatly disappointed with Delta!)

7. Be admired by someone I admire. (Still have trouble believing it.)

8. Like my mother-in-law. Because after all, they are crazy about what you’ve done to their sons. (It’s true, mine’s lovely and wonderfully made to craft with me. Oh how I LOVE her.)

9. Take long-weekends with my husband to far away places. People who lived on a budget just didn’t enjoy such TV-ish things! (We’ve not finished my list, but oh how fantastic it is to fly away and have fun – on a cheap budget – and come home having seen somewhere new and explored fun places.)

In order to be in this photo, the dog figured out how to open the sliding glass door!

10. Own a dog that is smarter than me. *Hunting dogs are smart, but where I came from they were not detectives. WHO KNEW! (Can’t believe the ways this crazy weimaraner can figure out how to unlock his crate, or sneak into the garbage, or convince a little to open something! Blog already exists!)

As you can tell, as a kid I didn’t think very much of my dreams. Sure I had some even bigger ones, but it’s fun to think of the things my little head thought were a big deal. It’s even more fun to feel like you’ve done amazing things. Even if those things are only amazing to a child.  🙂

After all folks, dreaming big changes as we see the world with more mature eyes. Thanks to Kristin with an i for the fun inspiration! I will most likely give you a glimpse of my “bucket-ish list” on a later post, but I think they are a little creepy.

One thought on “Things I never thought I’d do! True story.

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑