Doing my part!

“But now God has set the members, each one of them, in the body just as He pleased.” 1 Corinthians 12:18

I know that most people who have attended church all of their lives at some point have heard this scripture in some context. So, it is no surprise that most people have an idea of what this verse should be saying to us. “Be who God created you to be in the body.” I agree, I guess to a degree. But today I found a new perspective. TO be clear, the entire chapter (for context) is proving that each member of the Body of Christ should not obtain the same spiritual giftings. We do not simply have the same talent. This chapter describes the many (some unknown at the time) parts to the working physical body and how God designed them to work together.

What if God’s context is not a pretty picture? What if we are one of those body parts no one thinks about? What if we are called to be the “work horse” with no real glory in this lifetime? Would we still be part of this body?

If you knew that you were going to spend your life as a part of the body and be something obscure like the liver would that journey be enough? I don’t know why I said liver, there are more than a dozen parts of the human body that get no real credit, until they are missing that is. See, if I am called to be the hands or feet, that sounds noticable in some regard and the ministry can have some visible rewards.

I read a statement that declared some of us are called to a barefoot ministry while others are in designer shoes.

I thought the author was being funny, but then as I returned to the chapter and starting really thinking about my friends in different aspects of ministry I began to see the resemblence. (Although, I don’t think designer shoes are a mandate of God in any circumstance!)

My friends who travel across the country without fame or glory and usually with only enough money from partners to get by would agree that a life lived for God can be a wonderously joyous life regardless of your “status” in society. They inspire me and I support their ministry which is changing the lives of people who are caught in the grip of cult life. These friends do not always see the end result of the freedom they bring to these people. They live by Faith that they are doing what God needs them to do and that He will supply all their needs.

On the other hand, I have friends who have spent their lives ministering to the inner city and have seen the blessing, and the fruit of their labor. Although, sometimes these friends do not see the good without seeing much devasation and heartbreak. I would consider these friends people who are blessed to say that they can live in a nicer home and within a short drive be in the mission field that God has called them to. (But eventually, they get to go home.)

I have other friends who decide that moving to the culture, being involved in the people’s lives they are trying to reach is the place God wants them. These types of ministry can happen in another country, but they are here in America as well.
On reservations to minister to those trapped in poverty and shut out from the blessings this country can bring. In the Appalation Mountains communities where no one wants to see the devastation. In the depths of suburban gang culture where no one is reaching out in a Metropolitan area.

So, after my rabbit trail of thoughts, I bring you to what God showed me: You wonder why the Body of Christ doesn’t seem to be working…there are too many parts to my design missing.

Yeah, that made some sense to me in the moment I felt the thoughts invade my thinking. How many more of these “unsung” parts should be pulling the weight for the few? How many of us are not living the life God designed for us? You know all of the people I mentioned, and trust me, they are just a few of the many active ministers I know doing work, they all love their life. Each family feels blessed and loves doing what God has designed their hearts to do.

I believe, God gave us the desires within our hearts and He created us to do what He had planned. So, when we fulfill that longing in our hearts, we infact become happier and healthier. We will also find that we will bear more spiritual fruit than ever before.

As for those designer shoes, I thought that verses 19-24 in The Message bible really helped me translate just who we should be giving recognition to!

1 Cor. 12: 19-24 “But I also want you to
think about how this keeps your significance from getting blown up into
self-importance. For no matter how significant you are, it is only because of what you are a part of. An enormous eye or a gigantic hand wouldn’t be a body, but a monster. What we have is one body with many parts, each its proper size and in its proper place. No part is important on its own. Can you imagine Eye telling Hand, “Get lost; I don’t need you”? Or, Head telling Foot, “You’re fired; your job has been phased out”? As a matter of fact, in practice it works the other way—the “lower” the part, the more basic, and therefore necessary. You can live without an eye, for instance, but not without a stomach. When it’s a part of your own body you are concerned with, it makes no difference whether the
part is visible or clothed, higher or lower. You give it dignity and honor just as it is, without comparisons. If anything, you have more concern for the lower parts than the higher. If you had to choose, wouldn’t you prefer good digestion to full-bodied hair?”


I pray, Dear Heavenly Father, that as part of the Body of Christ, you remind me that there are seasons and that there is a place for me to be who you made me. I am so thankful for your Grace that is sufficient to cover all my past mistakes and that your plan actually knew I would be right here, today, and that you already had a plan for the door to open to the daily ministry you have called me to in this season and that your plans are laid out before me for the next season, and the next. Bring to me the true desires of my heart that were there as a child, help me discern how I can use those desires for Your Glory and for Your gain. Help me see that there is peace and joy and comfort when I walk with you in your ways. Give me the heart that sees the hurting around me and the needs that I can fill.
Give me the peace to know that sometimes you expect radical change, but that most of the time you are asking me to simply start SOMETHING for YOU. AMEN.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑